Tasting Notes 3

A belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all!
A time of festivities, catching up with friends new and old, and undoubtedly a drop of grog along the way!
As a beer lover, I tend to get a few bottles over the Christmas period as gifts. Which is great! Easy to buy for, and usually easily satisfied.
This year was no exception.
A gift pack of four real ales found itself sitting under my Christmas tree, most of which I’ve had before, but still pleasing none the less.

20140107-205756.jpg
This selection I believe came from Boots, they also do a lager and cider selection pack along the same lines.
Marstons Resolution Ale. 4.7%
Marstons are a brewery of one of my favourite ales, Old Empire IPA, so I was hopeful this ale would be of similar quality. I wasn’t disappointed. The colour of golden honey when poured, the nose followed suit with a sweet, maltiness. Upon tasting, the beer was crisp, malty and a full sweetness, though not overpowering, with a light refreshing finish.

Alton fff Ale. 3.8%
This beer and brewery I hadn’t heard of before, so was intrigued to try this. When poured, I was surprised to see it was a still ale, but pleasing to the eye with a warm copper colour. On the nose, it is light and floral, with spiced lemongrass notes. Taste was similar, along the lines of an IPA with a floral beginning, grapefruit middle and a snappy bitter end. Great beer, seek it out.

Youngs Light Ale. 3.2%
A lighter ale in colour, flavour and strength, slightly bronzed, not much nose, slightly malty if anything. Taste is more or less the same, slight malty sweetness with a light bitter end, and little body to it. More like a mild beer. Not to my taste, but not offensive.

Shepherds Neame Spitfire Kentish Ale. 4.5%
An old classic was the last ale to pass my lips, and I finished on a high. A warm, chestnut colour, with a malty, slightly fruity bouquet. On tasting, it follows the nose with a good malt hit, followed by a little sweet citrus and finishing with a slight bitterness. You can see why it’s popular.

There’ll be a few more beers coming up tomorrow, and a look at Brains Brewery and what is going on there, with some new exciting upstarts giving the stalwarts of SA and Reverend James a run for their money.

Cheers for reading!

Leave a comment